At the 90th plenary meeting, on 10 June 2004, the President of the General Assembly announced that the following persons had been elected as Chairmen of the Main Committees of the General Assembly at its fifty-ninth session:

First Committee:	Mr. Luis Alfonso DE ALBA (Mexico)
Special Political and Decolonization Committee (Fourth Committee):	Mr. Kyaw Tint Swe (Myanmar)
Second Committee:	Mr. Marco BALAREZO (Peru)
Third Committee:	Mr. Valery KUCHINSKY (Ukraine)
Fifth Committee:	Mr. Don MACKAY (New Zealand)
Sixth Committee:	Mr. Mohamed BENNOUNA (Morocco)

58/420. Election of the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly at its fifty-ninth session⁴

At its 90th plenary meeting, on 10 June 2004, the General Assembly, in accordance with paragraphs 2 and 3 of the annex to resolution 33/138 of 19 December 1978 and rule 30 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly,⁵ elected by acclamation the following twenty-one Member States as Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly at its fifty-ninth session: ALGERIA, ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA, AUSTRALIA, AZERBAIJAN, BANGLADESH, BELGIUM, BURKINA FASO, CHINA, DJIBOUTI, EL SALVADOR, FRANCE, GHANA, IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF), KAZAKHSTAN, NICARAGUA, RUSSIAN FEDERATION, SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC, UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, UZBEKISTAN and ZAMBIA.

58/421. Appointment of a member of the International Civil Service Commission

At its 91st plenary meeting, on 18 June 2004, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁷ appointed Mr. Gilberto Paranhos Velloso (Brazil) as a member of the International Civil Service Commission for a term of office beginning on 18 June 2004, as a result of the death of Mr. João Augusto de Medicis (Brazil).

As a result, the International Civil Service Commission is composed as follows: Mr. Mohsen BEL HADJ AMOR (*Tunisia*),*** Chairman; Mr. Eugeniusz WYZNER (*Poland*),*** Vice-Chairman; Mr. Mario BETTATI (*France*),** Mr. Daasebre Oti BOATENG (*Ghana*),*** Mr. Minoru ENDO (*Japan*),** Mr. Alexei L. FEDOTOV (*Russian Federation*),* Mr. Asda JAYANAMA (*Thailand*),* Ms. Lucretia MYERS (*United States of America*),** Mr. Gilberto PARANHOS VELLOSO (*Brazil*),** Mr. Ernest RUSITA (*Uganda*),* Mr. José R. SANCHÍS MUÑOZ (*Argentina*),*** Mr. C.M. Shafi SAMI (*Bangladesh*),* Mr. Alexis STEPHANOU (*Greece*),** Ms. Anita SZLAZAK (*Canada*),*** and Mr. El Hassane ZAHID (*Morocco*).*

58/422. Appointment of a member of the Joint Inspection Unit

At its 93rd plenary meeting, on 5 August 2004, the General Assembly, pursuant to article 3, paragraph 2, of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit, contained in the annex to resolution 31/192

Term of office expires on 31 December 2004.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2005.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2006.

⁷ A/58/819, para. 5.